Oh CRAP!

I was chatting with a TV producer friend of mine earlier tonight and happened to mention the faux reality show idea that I plan to shoot the first (and maybe only) episode of later this year. She asked me a bunch of questions and said "Sounds great! Give me a treatment or 20 minutes of video and I'll get it in front of the networks next month." WHAT? I just came up with the idea for this thing last week, I am nowhere near ready to shoot any footage. Does anybody have any really good links to how to do a treatment and pitch that work? Since I am new to this part of the industry, I'm really looking for a paint by numbers sort of format here.

Hey, the creators of Reno 911 were in the same dilemma as you, and they ended up running six seasons.

Step one is to calm down. Step two is to tell us your idea, or link to where you told this idea, which would provide a better understanding of how this series should be pitched (or prematurely filmed.)

It's a fake reality show about zombies. The premise is a cross between Swamp People and American Chopper with a pinch of Pawn Stars thrown in. Of course, the show is 100% totally fake, but acts as if it's completely real. There is conflict between the stars of the show and a protest group. Then there's government oversight and all kinds of potential guest cameos. At it's heart, it's a show about an old redneck, his two sons and their Laura Kroftian G.I. Jane best friend that run the operation and give zombie tours.

Now that sounds like a good idea, and I now see why you can't shoot at the moment. But nothing is stopping you from writing some scenes. I think it'd be easier to pitch if there was more material backing the idea.