Entertainment vs. Artistic Expression

Their is no question about it, Film is an Art. With that being said, it is an art of the entertainment industry.

Do you gear your films towards one side or the other?

Which do you prefer and why?

And can you say it is achievable to find a median in between?

Now as a fellow filmmaker, I understand these are simple questions with complex answers involving multiple variables. However, I am positive you have had this conversation many a time and it would be very interesting to hear your point of view.

Are you saying good art isn't entertaining?

That's what I was thinking. Why can't artistic expression be entertaining?

But there is one big variable. Any yahoo who can afford to rent a film camera can make a "film". I mentioned this in another thread that art is subjective. Perhaps the discussion should be more on the differences between niche and mainstream. I plan to focus more on mainstream (what works and what's profitable) until I can afford to take a big risk on a niche project. But even that doesn't always work to one's advantage. Take a look at M. Night Shyamalan and how his films got progressively worse the more control he had over them (my opinion). I was a big fan of his for a long time, and then he dropped The Happening and I was left wondering, "What happened?" Art? Perhaps. You decide. Because that film certainly wasn't entertaining to me.

Last edited:
I probably should have reworded the questions a little different. Artistic Expression can be very entertaining.

VPTurner worded it much better. Mainstream vs Niche