Keeping an empty street empty

Hi, all.

I'm getting myself prepared to shoot my very first short in a couple of months (I'm working away from home for 3 months). One shot in my piece is a child dreaming that he is alone, completely. I want to have him run to the end of his driveway, look left and right, and the street is totally devoid of anything living.

What I want to know is this: I can't really block a residential street off and tell everyone to stay inside while I do this (well, maybe I can, but... :idea:). So, what I was thinking to do was either get a still shot looking either direction, or maybe a few seconds of video (which may get looped if I need more time) when the way is clear, and then green screen the child in.

Putting aside the fact that I've never done this before (I'm going to practice a lot while I'm away), do either of these sound like reasonable concepts to anyone out there with more experience than me. (Granted, more experience than me could mean someone sitting in their very first film class. :lol:)

When I was about 17 I made a movie where an astronaut returns
to an empty earth. We didn't have the use of greenscreen or video
compositing back then so we shot all the scenes very early in the
morning. We ended up with some amazing shots of freeways,
residential areas, schools and even the main streets of the city
by taking a lot of time and care in getting the shots.

It seems that in a residential neighborhood there will be a few
minutes at some time during the day when there is no one out
and about.

I'll let those who advocate greenscreen and effects cover that
aspect.

That shows you how new I am to this. I hadn't even considered getting shots early in the morning. It would be perfectly in keeping with things, as well, as this dream is supposed to be when the child first wakes up. Definitely a (much easier) idea than what I had. :lol: