What kind of props should I get for a press conference scene?

I was going to order cameras and mics that looked like the ones reporters used. However I came across this article here:

http://ideas.time.com/2013/01/24/is-washington-overreacting-to-zero-dark-thirty/

If you look in the picture, the press seems to he holding their phones out. Does the press use phones to get information now! If this is true, than maybe I do not need those props. Do they use cell phone cameras as well? If so, then it's cheaper for me, but just so long as it's true and the audience will buy it.

Are you sure they were phones and not small recorders? I was a journalist in the Army and I used a small tape recorder to do interviews and to tape briefings. I often would turn the recorder on and place it on the speakers platform just as they started to talk.
When we did press conferences and had media briefings we always had "Press Kits" that we handed out that contained information that we wanted to put out. Usually it was just a folder with our logo on it. Inside would be photos, reference material and Points of Contact so the reporter could get in touch with key people for follow up information.
If we were going to do a slide show or Power Point brief there would be a screen and projector in the room. In some cases we would have work stations that had a phone for the reporter to use.
Most press rooms will have seating, either like a movie theater or with folding chairs and tables.
In some cases, but not all the time, we would put out light refreshments such as pastries and soft drinks to smooze the press with.
If the briefing is key to your story you should make it as convincing as possible. The briefer should be convincing that he/she is a subject matter expert or has practical knowlege of what they are briefing about.
Hope this helps.