want to make films where to start.

HI,
im new to all of this film making stuff but i want to start making films. i was wandering where i should start. Like what software i should buy to edit... and stuff like that. also any tips . thanks

where to start

Andrew,

Good question. Starting does not begin with editing, but ends with editing. Before you edit (post production) you have to shoot your story on film or video (production), and before you shoot, you have to have a script.

Writing is the first aspect of filmmaking. If you are not a writer, find a writer to collaborate with in order to set up a shoot. Once the story has been developed and a production budget determined, you'll need to cast the parts to good actors (or if you are a rookie, why not cast your classmates to do a short film just for fun?)

After the script is now on video (or film) you can begin your edit, but wait until you "get something in the can" (as we say).

Good story first. That's the way to begin.

WC

Well, while I'm still "starting," I'll tell you how I started starting, and what I would do now, had I just started. The first thing I did was buy one of the hundreds of filmmaking books I found on Amazon. I went through that one, searched for more--

Actually, the first thing I did was research the camera I was planning on purchasing. I googled its model number so many times, I knew Google's updating schedule. So I searched, read, searched, read. Most of what I found were comparisons of my camera vs. the more expensive camera. So I researched the more expensive one as much as the other, until I knew everything about every camera an independent filmmaker might consider. Just doing this taught me a lot about filmmaking, gradually.

Then, I hit the forums, like dvinfo.net, dvxuser.com, studentfilmmakers.com. Really, anything remotely centered around filmmaking worked, just so I could hear other's experiences, and learn on their backs.