Using people without consent?!?!

I just want to know the rules about using people without their concent. Is it based on whether they are recognizable or not? If someone was over 200 feet away, would they need to sign a release form?

This must be a new one to most people because there is no replies! Interesting question, I wonder what the legalities of it are...most of the film makers I know use consent forms, but that is for recognizable people - I wonder if anyone has ever asked this question?!?

Ever watch a reality show, like Jackass, and you see all of the people, except one person's face is pixelated to hide his identity. That's the person who did not consent, but they still used the shot. You don't want to pixelate your film do you? Get consent from all your extras.

My understanding - disclaimer I am not a lawyer and can not give legal advice nor do I have special knowledge on any of this - is that if they are not recognizable, they do not need a waiver. Also, in NC at least, if the project is filmed on public property, whatever lies within the field of view of the public property, even if it is private property / persons, is fair game and no permission is required.

I had also heard something about this. I remember when I was editing still/animation commercials for cable and we need still pics - if the person was in public, they were fair game.

The Public Property thing is absolutely true. I am a videojournalist by day, working for local news in Austin, TX, and we've had to sit through training tapes about this very thing. If a person is on public property and the camera is in plain view (i.e. if they didn't want to be seen they could come over and tell you so) then you are pretty much in the clear. And if they are unrecognizable, then all the better.

Poke

There is a trick to this actually.