Ugh! Fundraising blues.

I thought I had a plan (combination of traditional investor, self-funding and crowd-funding) that would make my bare-minimum budget of $50K happen for the next feature. Nope, not happening. Technically, the investor is in, but he's in for an amount that basically is his way of giving me moral support. It's a nice gesture, but I'm not going to reach the $50K goal, not for this project.

I just bought Nick's ebook on the investment side of things, and that may pay dividends, but it should be noted that each of Nick's successful features is a horror movie. The project I had planned is definitely not horror. In fact it is a Road Trip movie, with a supernatural twist. A very marketable story, I think, but not in a genre with a proven track-record, and I'm a filmmaker without a proven track-record, so I don't think I can use this project to attract the kind of investors that Nick talks about.

So, now that I'm back to square-1, I'm asking myself if I should dig in my heels and stick with the planned project, and just SERIOUSLY modify the budget, or if I should branch-out and start making horror? I do enjoy a good horror movie, but I wouldn't say that I'm a fan of the genre.

Then again, J.J. Abrams wasn't a fan of the "Star Trek" franchise, but he made one hell of an awesome "Star Trek" movie, in my opinion. So, maybe as an outsider to the genre, I could find my own way to put a personal spin on things?

Christian movies are profitable. Maybe I should make a Christian Horror movie! :D

Cracker,

I suggest following what you want to do.

If you want to make some quick cash to fund your project you are working on now, then just do the 4K secret. I saw your trailer, you got it, you got what it takes. Just do that an I can already have a buyer for you for 10-20K for sure, now spend a week and do three, you got your budget. Be sure not to get down, and you got this.

You got what it takes

Nick Soares