Two unsolicited cents on Online Distribution...

Hi Guys! A newbie here!

I'm Kneko Burney, from Eyesoda.com, a new social networking, streaming site that brings independent filmmakers and film lovers together.

I'm sure everyone's been talking about online film distribution as the next big thing for indie film. And, as an owner of a business that does just that, I would agree. But, as a trained economist and consultant (I continue to run a successful consulting business) I thought I'd also be honest about the near-term future of the market...

Here are my two unsolicited cents - I hope we can start a vibrant discussion about them!

1. High-quality streaming of video content (independent, broadcast and Hollywood) is one of the biggest areas of activity on the Internet today. Streaming video, along with Web cam conferencing, IP TV and user-generated video, fall into a category called "IP Video," where IP stands for Internet Protocal. There is more investment in this area than just about any other area of high-tech today.

2. Business models for this category are still developing, even for popular sites like YouTube (which is still not profitable). As such, there is no one "right" business model. There are lots of ways to skin a cat, so to speak, and many of these diverse business models will survive in the long-run. That's beauty of the Web, it facilitates diversity. As such, if you've got a little time on your hands, it would good to check out more than one company in the area. Here are some that I watch: