Total newbie with Canon XL2 on the way...

Hi all. I am a complete newbie to any type of videography apart from playing with a sony handycam. I have become surprisingly (to me) passionate about getting ideas and stories on video to be shared with others.

I've spent time researching good entry level cameras on the web (Didn't find this site until later) and came up with the Canon XL2 as the unit that would do all I need to do as I learn to put out quality videos short of HD.

I found a gently used unit in my price range and it is on it's way to me right now.

Now that I've found this site, I see it is not mentioned anywhere I can find as a suitable unit. It was all the rage elsewhere on the web from what I could find. Is this thing going to do what I'm after? I read glowing report after glowing report and saw the same on youtube and the like.

Bottom line; If I do my part, will this unit still perform at an acceptable level per turning out a good finished product? Thanks all for the forum here and for any advice/guidance offered.

What is it that you want to do ???? That is most important. What is your vision ? your message ? how do you want to use that tool to tel us a story ? Who will help you ? do you have the technical skills needed? waht do you want to learn or need to learn ???

Bottom line; If I do my part, will this unit still perform at an acceptable level per turning out a good finished product?

Bottom line: if you have a great script, excellent audio, terrific actors,
inspired lighting and you are a good director and editor that camera
will be just fine.

The XL2 was released 8 years ago. In camera years that is a very long
time. It was all the rage for quite a while and it's still a fine camera. It
is not HD so it is no longer all the rage. Glowing reports aside, that
camera is just a tool. You have a fine tool; how you use it matters.