Tips for dealing with cast members on first movie?

My social skills are horrible but I'm trying not to let this detract from my success in the movie business. I often hear that if you're going to be in the movie business, you need fantastic social skills when in fact this industry was full of recluses like Stanley Kubrick and has just started being seen as this hugely social-fanatic industry bent on networking.

I still think to be successful in the film industry you need to make a good movie that the majority likes at a festival to get noticed. You don't have to kiss butts with people from film industries to get yourself recognized. But that's just my opinion (Which most likely may be wrong considering I'm new to Film)

But back to the point, I am kind of scared dealing with my first cast and crew for a feature film I am making because it's up to me to keep my crew inspired and dedicated since we likely will be working together on this project for 5-6 months. I don't know what to say to them aside from explaining my vision and the goals I have for this movie because I'm not a good sympathizer, I'm not good at jokes to ease stress my crew may face, and well, I'm not good at a lot socially so I'm scared that this may inhibit my success with my crew in my film.

But what are your opinions? Do you have tips when it comes to dealing with cast members for the first time? Any suggestions are much needed thanks!

@IndiePaul yes this is my first film and I am self funding it as well. I've already paid for camera equipment, tripod, dolly, and lights and I will pay my actors as I go with some of the paycheck money I got from work.

I will be the cinematographer, director of photography, director, writer, producer, sound mixer, and gaffer but I will have someone else operating the boom mic for me and the camera if necessary as well.

Each day on set will be dedicated to just a few scenes for 6-7 hours a day with my cast which is why this project could take 5-8 months