directing The Nuts and Bolts of Filmmaking

I really like reading the posts about the actual making of a film, but can't really comment as I'm coming from a whole different angle. As I mentioned in a reply to another thread, I'm an animator, so while the "bread" on the filmmaking sandwich (pre- and post-production) are pretty much the same, it's what happens in the "filling" that is vastly different. Even within animation itself, there are so many techniques (from stop-motion through hand-drawn to 3D) that it's even difficult for animators to compare notes sometimes. So keep up the posts on how you make films as I'm really interested!

And now a pet peeve if I'm allowed (and nobody here has committed this faux pas, but just wanted to air my grievance, lol) - just to clarify something that even festivals get wrong: animation is not a "genre", it's a technique that can utilize just about any genre (although "genre" films these days usually means horror, action or sci-fi). End of rant! :)

I have mad respect for people that do any form of animation. I made a 30 minute brick film on VHS when I was in 8th grade and while it was fun, when I finished I told myself never again. I do a little CG animation now and then for my live action films, but it's almost always objects like vehicles, weapons, and trees. Never characters - I don't have the patience for all the little details lol

Yeah, some animation styles take a lot of patience - and stop motion is top of the list! I don't have the patience or stamina to do those any more, so I stick to hybrid 2D/3D now in my advanced years, lol. ;)
I always read your posts and updates on the making of your film to get some insight into how the "other half" does things.