Some Advice Please

Hello,

I am a screen writer, and am going to venture out and film my first film short. The question I have is regarding shooting in 16mm film. For me, I like the look of film. I was first thinking of shooting my film (about 20 mins in length) in digital. So I was thinking of using the Canon XLS with the mini35 lens adapter to get the depth of field film look. However, I can't stand the look of digital. I love the texture that film has, and have always loved the film look. Plus, I am going to be submitting my film to the festivals next year, and want this look for my film.

So, I've decided to go with 16mm. However, I know nothing about shooting in film. I know nothing about film camera's, nor do I know jack about syncing the sound with the film afterwards. What I DO know, is computer graphics. I have been a graphic and multimedia designer for over 10 years. So I know that I can shoot in 16mm, and have it converted to digital tape, which I can download to my computer, and do whatever the hec I want to it once it gets in there. The question there is, if I elicit the help of a cinematographer, would I just rely on the cinematographer to take care of the shooting of the film?

So, I have a plethora of questions regarding if I should just purchase a second hand 16mm movie camera? Rent the equipment? Or what? Any advise anyone may have with how I should approach this, would be extremely helpful.

Along with my design background, I am a trained Actor and writer, and did go to school for television broadcasting. However, again working in broadcasting is not film. So I have acted in film, and have the front end experience, but never produced one on my own.

Ok, fire away. :cool:

Thanks so much for the help!!

-45thronin

Do you have any filmmaker friends who might want to work on your project? Since you are in Manhattan, aren't you tripping over filmmakers? :D