Short, fat, bald, toothless, no-ass old fart

New poster, old lurker. I've been sticking my nose in here for several years, keeping my ears open and my mouth shut. Back in the 80's I co-wrote and produced "Officer Survival' training films for the Los Angeles Sheriff's Department, 40-50 minute reenactments done with a production team of around 20-30 (all entertainment industry guild members who were also Reserved Deputies). I produced a couple of REALLY BAD music videos back in the days of 'tin foil wrapped around a camera stand' (think 'Flock of Seaguls'), worked in Equity Waiver theater in Los Angeles, and perfected my cynical style of magazine writing. Now that I'm old and retired and don't care if I look like a fool, I'm toying with the idea of getting involved in independent films. Almost all of my old friends and contacts are either retired or dead (sadly that's not just a figure of speech) so I'm pretty much on my own and starting the learning curve back at the bottom. Yes, I'm kind of old to be starting such an intensive pursuit, but I'll be just as old if I do nothing but sit on my ass and golf! Bald, big belly, red dot Cohiba sticking out of my mouth... TELL me I don't look the part of a producer!

Dad!
You can adopt me, I'm only 46! (or is it 47?, eh, cant recall anymore!)

This is an awesome old fogies hobby! Better than model trains! (though DCC is pretty freaking amazing!)

I used to live in Palm Springs! My brothers and I, along with dad, did a lot of tile and stone work there... Something you might have seen, being an old fart and all, is the Mizell Senior Center, we built that.

My advice, make your first 2 min film today! Get it done, get it out of the way. What ever camera you have, what ever resources you have right now, just get it done. It will suck.. so might as well get it over with fast!

I agree with Wheat - shoot something today!
What I shot on my cr@ppy cellphone: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ItD7KveY0-M