shooting at night

Hello everyone:
I am new to the film-making world and had another question. If I'm shooting a scene outside a restaurant at night, How much light do I need? Where should I set the lights up? What about the traffic in the street? Is it to noisy? What can I do to cut that out? Any info would be greatly appraciated.

Hi there, new to the site and the world of filmmaking too, hope the lil info I have can help?

Everywhere seems to reccomend using 5000w+ for a night scene, although the more ambient light on the scene the more you'll need to adjust this. It's mostly a case of trial and error, add as much light as you can and then remove until you've got your desired level :) There are a lot of lighting tutorials on the net, always worth a look.

As for traffic noise, try using a super or hyper-cardiod mic, the narrow pattern should cut down the traffic noise and concentrate on the actors. I'm still trying to get my hands on a shotgun mic myself lol.

Hope this has helped,
~D

Thanks had another question if you don't mind, What is a hyper-cardoid mic? I have no clue. And I will look at the lighting tutorials on the net. That's how I pretty much got the idea to film my own movie. Thanks again I appreciate it.

Rocky,

I'd suggest you do yourself a favor and get your hands on some type of a primer (book or internet website) to understand what all of this is and how it works. Here's one that will give you some heads up, http://www.jamesarnett.com/sections.html .