• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Scene Feedback

Good afternoon all,

I was inspired by a scene and wonder if you all will read and give me your thoughts on it. What do you all think - is it too dark? Flat? Do you find the subtle humor? Too much dialogue?

And my apologies for the format, I am still learning how to post using this code stuff.

Cheers,

Adam

Code:
INT.  RESTAURANT - NIGHT.

JOY (30’s) and STUART (30’s) sit opposite each other.  He is trying to resist bursting into tears as they finish dessert.

JOY
Stuart?…Are you okay?

STUART
Yeah.  Sure.  I'm fine.

JOY
Good.  Well.  I had a really nice time.

STUART
Yeah. Me too.

JOY
Of course, you know I've always had a nice time with you.

STUART
Same here.

JOY
But…

STUART
Yeah.

JOY
You understand.

STUART
Unh.

JOY
And you don't hate me?

STUART
No.

JOY
Cause you know I could never hate you. At the same time, I just don't think I could ever…you know…you.    In the way you should be…

STUART
Yeah.

JOY
And deserve to be.

STUART
Uh huh.

JOY
Well.  The food here was excellent– I'm gonna recommend it to my sisters!  How many stars did it get?

STUART
Three and a half.

And the dam cracks wide open.  He bawls.

A pause.

JOY
Do you feel better now?
(STUART nods)
Me too.

STUART
I'm sorry.

JOY
It's really good we had this talk.

STUART
Yeah.

JOY
Before things went too far…You know, got too serious.

STUART
Yeah.  I'm sorry.  I'm too serious.

JOY
No, you're not.  It's me.

STUART
No, it's me.

JOY
Okay.  It's you.  I'm sorry.

STUART
Okay.

Pause.

JOY
'Cause I mean…

STUART
I know.

JOY
The thing is, I want to do what's right – for both of us.  I spent a lot of time…examining…my heart.  And I felt that you deserved my honesty.

STUART
Thanks.

Pause.

JOY
Now I just want to make you whole again.

STUART
I'm whole.

JOY
Really?

STUART
Really.

JOY
…'Cause I was afraid we wouldn't be able to be friends anymore.

STUART
(laughing, sort of)
Oh, Joy!

JOY