• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Rate my first script for a short film

Hey everyone,

I'm pretty new to film making and this forum. So this is my first script ever. Its for a short film, which shouldn't be longer the 3 minutes. It will be used as the application film for a film school. The subject/theme they gave was: there and back

So ya, long story short I'm craving some feedback on this. Please excuse the grammar errors english isn't my first language. I'm sure there are some screenplay formating errors as well.

THE LAST TRAIN
3 Minute Short-Film.

Tobias Baumann

EXT. - NIGHT.

WIDE SHOT, we see a deserted train station in a dark winter night.

MEDIUM SHOT, of the platform down the tracks. The whole scene is only partly illuminated by the eerie light from the station. We hear the silence of the night. No train is coming. No passengers can be seen. A normally busy place is resting.

MEDIUM SHOT, on the train announcement board. It is empty.

MEDIUM SHOT, on the ticket office. Its empty and the lights are off.

MEDIUM SHOT, on the train station clock. The minute pointer is moving with a click to 04:00 am.

FULL SHOT, on two waiting persons sitting on a bench at the station. They both wear the same cloths: white hospital robes. That’s the only thing they are wearing in this cold night. However they don’t seem to be affected by the cold and actually look quite comfortable. Lets’ call them Joe and Dave. The film title “The last Train” appearing overlaid.

Joe is looking at the clock and says:

JOE
This thing is never on time!

Dave doesn’t respond. He is staring forward with no obvious point of focus. His face is emotionless.

Joe looks at him waiting for a response. After a few seconds he fumbles around in the bags of the hospital robe to reveal a ticket.