• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Processing MY Work

I'm a newbie with the filming fever and want to get the best look with my cheap setup before investing more money (wife). I have a small sony hdr-cx100 that records decent video and I have a velbon tripod. I record in AVCHD FHD. I use there PMB software to convert footage to mpeg 2 to load into After Effects. Any advice on best way to work this set up would be greatly apreciated. I'm working on my camera techniques but wanted to get the best with my setup. Plus when I upload to youtube it sucks as the short clip demonstrates. It looks good on my home HD 1080 TV.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8XIkSL07HpQ

Just checked out your clip, MCL169. Looked pretty good on my MacPro and Samsung 1920 X 1200 monitor at a 720 setting. Your clip was simple and very well done... very effective and not over stated.

Hey thanks alot for the reply. In the begining it's hard to guage your work & I'm still getting use to the camera. So please any body with advise or feed back let me know. I'll post the clip when I develop it more.

No biggie, its a syntax thing..

Editing means cutting and splicing shots together and Premiere is better than AE at that stuff...

What you did here was a visual effect of a single shot, not an edit.

Yes I wanted to know if there was a better way to go from recording to rendering with my setup. Plus get feed back on the shot. I'm newer than a newbie but I learn fast. I'll look into premier thanks for the tip. Thats actualy the type of feed back I wanted. there's actualy an earlier clip "kclown" and even though the "kclown 2" is clearer I was told the first is actually more scarier. Any comments I know it's short and I'm studying up on composition and camera techniques for when I'm ready.
kclown http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uqthGbzUkXo
kclown 2 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8XIkSL07HpQ&feature=related