• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Opinion on an email from a producer/director

Hello,

I've been working on a draft of my screenplay and hours I've finished my draft, I received an email from a person through inktip who wants his story idea developed into a screenplay. The only script I have on inktip is a short and I have been working on my craft for 18 months, so I consider myself a novice still, making me anxious but excited at the same time when I've seen this email.

I don't want to get ahead of myself but what I want to ask from experienced screenwriters is what do you think of his email? Do you think it is legit? He has provided his phone number, email address and imbd page which match his description. If it seems okay, how shall I follow it up? As I haven't got an agent, I may use an entertainment attorney for negotiations. By the way I think he is interested in me because I am an Indian, but the short I wrote in inktip matches the genre of his story idea (written in English). He was active in Bollywood film industry. I xxx his personal details. Other than that the email is exactly how he typed it.

---

In my young days whilst I lived in India i was actively involved in film business having produced directed and acted in over 20 features. I am now a U.S. Citizen live in miami Florida, it's well known that this business does not get out of your system and therefore I have decided to produce and direct a Hindi film, a family drama, to be shot in America.

I have a story idea, that needs to be developed into a screen play. From your name I gather you have Indian roots,

Would you be interested let me know I can be reached on xxx-xxxxxxx.
You can Imdb me or Google my name to see my work
Thanks

Sincerely,
xxx

---