• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

audio Mixing music for trailer

Hi Everybody!

I'm a noob filmmaker, making an animated comedy with many musical montages.
The movie has not yet finished production.
I need to know how to approach the production of the trailer as it is really bugging me.

As with any movie trailer, I want to provide a simple summary of the story (without giving away too much plot) while setting the tone for the movie, but I am not sure how to mix the musical score for the trailer.

Should the various trailer clips (each with its own musical score) just be mixed together each with its own default musical score?
Or should there be like only 1 or 2 musical scores in the trailer?

Or an entirely different approach?

Do you have a composer or are you using music from a library that you have the rights to? I've cut and scored just over a dozen of my own trailers. What I typically do is score little sections at a time. It's a lot like story structure, where you start with the Opening (introducing your characters or situation), then the Reveal (could be a bank heist, or spaceship landing, etc.), then the Conflict (introduce your bad guy, or problem), then the Action Montage (people running, fighting, etc.), then the Cliffhanger (your characters are up against a wall and you leave the viewer wanting to see more). Lastly, you'll want to have the title and credit block.

Of course, you don't have to do it like I said. You might be doing a drama, comedy, horror, etc. I have no idea. The genre you are doing will affect what kind of elements you put in your trailer. Obviously, you could change things around or guy with completely different moods.