I need a lot of help.

Hey I am trying to make my first short documentary on film. I've written out the outline but I have no equipment. If anyone could give me a list of what I will need and price ranges.

Welcome WilliamC!

I have no experience with film equipment, so I can't help you there. I DID, however, notice your location -- and thought I'd share that I am a John Jay HS graduate. Small world!

There's the obvious:
A camera - you can pay from a couple of hundred to several thousand.
Check the "What camera should I get?" threads here for detailed info.
A microphone - you can under $100 to $1,000.

The minimum equipment I would suggest having on hand is:
a tripod
6 lights with stands
2 china balls
8 extension cords
3 power strips
black wrap and gels
2 bounce boards
gaffers tape
a bunch of C-47’s - also called “bullets” or wood cloths pins
a coffee maker
a slate with marker

I'll let you do the research on the price range because, frankly, you
can pay anywhere from $30/$40 to a couple of hundred for just
about everything on that list.

Lowel makes nice kits. Tungsten lights with stands, barndoors and hard case.
You can also check Arri lights - more expensive and worth every penny. Not
the Lowel kits are bad - I have a 6 light kit with the Omni’s and Tota’s that I
bought new in 1990 and am still using it 18 years later.

For a nice beginning light kit I recommend:
A couple of work lights with stands from any home improvement store.

Five or six “scoop lights” - those clamp on work lights with the silver reflector.

Three or four pieces of Foamcore from any art supply store to use to bounce the light.

Two or three paper lanterns that you can get at Ikea. I hook each one to a dimmer
(home improvement store again) to get better control.

Some colored gels (check on line or if there is a small theater in your town they often
have extras) and some black wrap. Check Studio Depot

This example kind of puts all the following links in perspective.