• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Help with editing the footage from 5D Mark II

I have been using my 5D Mark II for about a year now, and I am satisfied with the quality of the photos and videos. About a year ago, I was advised to use CineForm to convert the MOV files into something editable, so I did. But I am still left with some questions, and I hope I can get some good answers to them. Thank you in advance.

1. I am not a pro but I can't help but compare the quality of my videos to that of this piece of film called Reviere by Vincent Laforet which was also shot with the same camera as mine. His images are very crystal clear and there seems to be no noise in the shots filmed in the dark. How do I achieve that?

2. The rapid movements in my videos seem to leave somewhat of a brief residue of the image that follows the movement, kind of a ghost-ish aftermath. I am filming with my Mark II at the 24P rate, and I am editing with my Adobe Premiere at the 24P. How do I make it go away?
(For example: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-6HMqLIJXjM at 4:08 when the rapper turns back to the camera.)

3. My PC is 3 years old, but if I bought some high-performance with up-to-date processor, ram and graphics card, would I be able to edit the MOV files straight out of the cameara or is Mac Book Pro with Final Cut is rather the way to go?

I am full of questions, but I will bother ya'll with these for now. Thank you in advance for your advices everyone!

1/50 or 1/60. Set it there and stay there.

If you cant expose properly the way u want by balancing between ur aperture and ISO, use light if its underexposed, use nd filters if its overexposed.

We had a big-ol' debate on here, not too long ago, in which we discussed the importance of the 180 shutter speed rule (a debate in which I was the opposition).