• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Film making possibilities with high end DSLR:s ??

Hi everyone!
I am a newbie to film making, and my "only" equipment at the moment is the eos 550d. Im spending many hours a day learning film techniques and my results is getting better and better, but of course the quality is not fit for the big screen or anything like that :D

BUT...i resently learned that the last episode of House was shot entirely with the canon eos 5d mark II, and that made me realise how much you can do with a dslr.

My question is at follows...is it possible to make a movie with all the latest special effects etc etc only with a high-end dslr? And im talking big ass movies, like batman dark knight etc. I expect the answer to be no...but lets say that you have ALL the equipment & money necessary for that kind of film, massive green-screen, makeup, dollys, cranes, 3d graphic designers, locations, blowing-stuff-up-equipment etc etc...is it then possible with a dslr?

If absolutely no, what is it that a conventional film camera can do, that a dslr cant? Im asking because im qurious and want to learn :)

/ Ted, Sweden.

you wont find many big name movies that were shot on DSLRs, especially not the T2i, however, you will find some features that used the 7D for B-footage. Kevin Smith used a 7D for B while shooting Red State and incorporated it into the RED footage nicely.

This was shot entirely on a 7D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=khjAtpnVk4Q

the T2i, T3i, 60D and 7D use the same sensor...each one has different pros and cons though..

I didn't mean big name movies. I meant a feature film shot on the T2i.

If memory serves me right, small parts of the B roll for Avengers was short on a DSLR for some strange reason. Source: American Cinematographer. Don't quote me though.

So.... Yes you can, but there are caveats and it can take a little more preparation.