• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Film making possibilities with high end DSLR:s ??

Hi everyone!
I am a newbie to film making, and my "only" equipment at the moment is the eos 550d. Im spending many hours a day learning film techniques and my results is getting better and better, but of course the quality is not fit for the big screen or anything like that :D

BUT...i resently learned that the last episode of House was shot entirely with the canon eos 5d mark II, and that made me realise how much you can do with a dslr.

My question is at follows...is it possible to make a movie with all the latest special effects etc etc only with a high-end dslr? And im talking big ass movies, like batman dark knight etc. I expect the answer to be no...but lets say that you have ALL the equipment & money necessary for that kind of film, massive green-screen, makeup, dollys, cranes, 3d graphic designers, locations, blowing-stuff-up-equipment etc etc...is it then possible with a dslr?

If absolutely no, what is it that a conventional film camera can do, that a dslr cant? Im asking because im qurious and want to learn :)

/ Ted, Sweden.

Yes, and no.

Your 550D can get you just as good images as a 5Dmkii in the right hands.

Now, DSLRs record heavily compressed and have all sorts of artifacting issues. But, that's not to say you couldn't make that kind of movie with them.

My issue with the DSLR is it looks like a DSLR, especially when not colour graded right. Therefore your movie more often than not is going to look less believable and more cheap because it looks DSLR-ey. A DSLR actually requires more equipment, more lights, more time in colour, more time in editing, more time coming up with the workflow etc. to make it look like a normal film than film does.