• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

file compression - final cut pro

I am fairly new to final cut pro and when I finalized a project the other day (about 15 min) in HI RES (4444 I think) the final file came out to about 20 GB. Needless to say, I had to compress. I am getting ready to make a short film with a running time of about 30 min and I would like to know if the compression will take away from the HD quality, and if it will, are there any other options?

Thanks!

I would assume you didn't shoot/acquire that footage at anywhere near the color depth you apparently rendered it at, so while rendering to "HI RES (4444)" doesn't degrade your image in any noticeable way, it's also a massive waste of space.

Most likely you won't need anything better than a 442 color depth, I would think prores should be fine for pretty much everything up through final output, but I'm not a mac guy, so I can't really get into codec specifics like that.

The bottom line though is that yes compression will degrade the signal, but good compression won't degrade the signal in a visible way... and you're best bet is to work with the smallest amount of compression and/or best (quality, not size) compression method you have available minimizing signal loss as much as possible until final render, which depending on your delivery format will likely be some variation of mpeg 2 or mpeg 4.

If you're talking about output after you've finished the project, then you should compress it. Normally codecs are lossy, meaning the size benefits you get will mean you will lose some quality. The question isn't whether there is a loss, but whether you can notice.

If you're talking about footage you're now about to edit with, it'll depend on what you're going to do with it. If you're altering the images, using some chroma key etc, then your compression can have an effect on the quality.