Ex Software guy in MD

sfoster

Staff Member
Okay so I've been here for a while.. but I never made a welcome thread :)

I started programming when I was 12 (18 years ago), and I loved it as my creative outlet for a long time. But at this point I would be happy never to code again. Frankly you guys wouldn't even believe me if I said the BS that I've had to deal with at different jobs. Such as getting fired for outshining superiors :no: Yes and in both cases when that happened, after I left things went to shit and my superiors were gone within a couple of months. One company even completely abandoned their software product without me there to hold it down :lol:

It's a small vindication, but I'm so sick of being used and thrown away that I've sworn off the industry. My whole life I've been screwed by 'the man' like you wouldn't believe. It's just my fate.. I even graduated college with a computer science degree.. walked across the stage in front of my family, shook hands with my professors… and a month later got a letter in the mail saying that there was a bug in their software and one of my classes no longer counted. Isn't that strange, you'd think that a college degree is something people can never take away from you. It's not true. Anyone can take anything from you, remember that. I'm still at 117 credits 8 years later, but no one ever questioned my degree on my resume. Why would they, I have my education and I'm extremely talented. All I'm missing is like.. a singing class. Hell, anything. Wouldn't matter.