Editing Advice

I have recently found a passion for editing, but I'm nervous because this is my last year of college and I'm not sure how to get my foot in the door. I know interning through school is one thing, but I've heard you can find things on your own, but where do you find specific places where you can focus on editing rather than your typical filmmaking internship? I just want more editing experience so I can learn and grow as an editor. Mind you I am a beginner, but i'm a quick learning and i'm quickly adapting to final cut pro

Here's what I would do:

Edit.

Get all of your family's home videos and cut together a compilation of them to music.

Shoot a short film with friends and edit it.

Watch movies and notice the editing techniques.

Buy books, read them, do editing,

Do editing.

Edit.

Edit some more.

Edit and edit and edit.

Edit while you sleep.

Edit.

Edit.

Edit.

Edit.

Edit.

Edit.

Edit.

p.s. Edit.

should i edit my dreams too? lol but you're right. I'm taking an editing class right now which has helped immensely. I've been thinking of buying Final Cut Express just because FCP is a little too expensive for me at the moment, but I definitely want to practice my editing

This is an A/V world! You can literally take anything out there and edit it.

Have you seen the re-edits of movie trailers that use the soundtrack of one movie and the visuals of another movie?

That takes some skill! Dabble with that.

There is absolutely no limit to what you can practice with.

You're right Cracker Funk. How silly of me to forget...edit edit edit lol

ROC- I actually haven't seen re-edits, but I have been noticing more of the edits in movies rather than just sitting down and enjoying the movie itself lol I actually have a question for you, or anyone who might have an answer. My teacher provides us with some clips from movies that we can use to edit. Would anyone happen to know if it's possible to find free footage to practice editing with?