Directors Calling Directions

I'm not sure where to post this, but...

Hello. While watching behind-the-scenes footages of movies during shooting, I've noticed (especially after I bought the Life Aquatic DVD) that directors tend to call out directions to the actors or camerapersons whilst acting is occuring. Being a filmmaker myself, I thought "Gee, that would be really convienent!". But, I came to a haunting question: what about what the director says? I guess my question is: Do they take out the callouts from the director in post, and if so how do they still maintain the original audio? Or do the mics just not pick up on the callouts? I'm quite confused :huh:

As long as the director doesn't step on any dialogue, removing his voice is simply a matter of editing it out and replacing it with room tone and sound effects. Almost all of the production sound is replaced in post anyway.

Hello. While watching behind-the-scenes footages of movies during shooting, I've noticed (especially after I bought the Life Aquatic DVD) that directors tend to call out directions to the actors or camerapersons whilst acting is occuring.

Are you sure that the director was giving direction during an actual take or was it just footage from a camera rehearsal?

Personally I can't imagine any thing more likely to result in poor, unbelieveable performances from an actor than shouting in directions during a take. I mean, you might as well work with glove puppets. :lol:

If that really did happen as directorial style on The Life Aquatic, I hope that Bill Murray took the director out and beat him senseless with a big lump of 2"by 4" at the end of the shoot.