• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

DaVinci Resolve vs Magic Bullet Looks

So basically for everything ,including my short film which i'll finish soon im using the inbuild features + magic bullet looks to color correct and color grade .

Somebody actually told me about DaVinci Resolve Lite (sorry if im wrong about the name ) and I saw couple of demos, it looked really nice,but as I see there is a version that is free and one which is 1000 dollars and they actually say that they are the same ,but it doesn't have 2k , 4k etc . SO I guess if you're using Red for instance you have to get the 1k version ,but for someone like me ,who is using DSLR is it a good choice ?And is it better than color grading with Magic Bullet Looks for instance ?

I know the question is kinda silly but I have never used DaVinci Resolve Lite before and I think if I can improve the color grading for my short somehow it would be awesome..

So is anyone using it and what do you think ?

Resolve has a learning curve for sure, but it's incredibly more powerful than magic bullet. A lot of pros use resolve with the $29k control interface in Hollywood features and network TV.

The lite version is pretty powerful too. If you have the time and, well, resolve to learn it it's great.

Magic Bullet doesn't do anything after effects can't do on it's own AND takes a ludicrous amount of time to render. I'd avoid it.

I read the Da Vinci needs to encode (most/a lot/some?) of the footage first to a larger filetype.
If that's the case and you have the time and diskspace: I see no problem.

I suggest to go test it.

I still have to go try it for myself.

Magic Bullet is a toy compared to DaVinci Resolve.

Magic Bullet:
-Very easy to use
-Even without proper CC knowledge you can give your videos a great boost

-You can't stack other effects on looks and see them in the looks-builder
-Slow render times
-Handles poorly compared to DaVinci

DaVinci: