Canon 550D

Hi guys, I'm looking into a first time video camera and I was considering the Canon 550D. I'm currently a uni student (not a film student though) so for the next year I'd mostly be doing shorts and music videos for a few bands I know, although I will then be looking into features and may well try and film using this camera. I've heard great things about DSLR in general and especially the video on this camera.

Having browsed here, I know that manual controls are very important, and unless I'm mistaken (and as a newbie I might be) these are all covered here. As well as that there's an external mic socket- useful as apparently the standard sound is iffy- and 1080p video.

The main thing I'm looking for is any feedback on people who've either used this camera or possibly know of a better alternative for a newbie. Its around £600 on amazon and I might shop around, as that is definitely the top end of my budget :rolleyes: For the summer I mostly just want to get my head around everything to do with the camera and experiment both with the camera itself and maybe some software, so any feedback from more experienced heads would be appreciated. I realise 'newbie camera?' threads come up a lot, but any specific feedback on these points would be awesome :) thanks!

550 is a great intro camera, has all the controls and options to make a stellar picture if you learn how to use it.

Even with the mic input, the audio is pretty useless. You'll need a separate recorder for audio.

550 can last you a lot of shorts and music videos, and though it's been done, it's a little light for a feature. By the time you get to the point where you're shooting a featur there will be a heap of new tech you'd want to use anyway.

£600 sounds a little pricey, shop around for sure. And try to get the body and a separate lens or two rather than the kit lens.