misc Can a filmmaker with the right passion make films with virtually no budget?

Can a indie filmmaker with the right passion make films with virtually no budget?

100%.

If you have a good story and the right actors and just this mystical combination that makes a film work, then yes.

Just don't try to do Star Wars without a budget, use your limitations to your advantage. IE, if you have a house, make a story that takes place in just the house. Use the restrictions to foster creativity. Example, Paranormal Activity - the writer/director owned a house and wrote the entire movie to take place in it. He was clever in how to make that interesting.

My wife and I have been making low/no budget films as a hobby for several years, including several low budget feature films. The trick is to write a script which allows you to shoot on your own property, and includes props that you already have on hand. We constructed quite a few sets in our garage using lumber from old wooden pallets. Actors were willing to work for free, but we always paid $25-$50 per day to make them feel more appreciated. We also provided good lunches, (no pizza), and never worked longer than 6 hours a day. The features were usually finished in 3 or 4 weekends. So "can a filmmaker make a film with virtually no budget?" The answer is "yes"...but here's the however. Your no budget film will also probably look like a no budget film. First of all, actors who are any good are no longer working for $50 a day. The good actors now have an agent, and demand more money. (And rightfully so). So a no-budget filmmaker is stuck with actors who are beginners...and how many first time actors are any good? Not many. And bad acting means bad film. Then you have to take into account your script. Is it really any good? Is writing your strong point? What about your sound quality? As for the films that my wife and I have made, they're really not very good. They're certainly watchable, but have all of the flaws that you would