• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Camcorder Starting Tips

Hello all.

I'm about to receive my first camcorder, a Panasonic GS250. It should come around Wednesday. Now, being a miniDV camcorder, I don't want to go wasting tape and battery time. I want to get to short film-making as soon as possible, but I have no experience with a camcorder.

So, what i'm looking for help with is like a starters guide to using a camcorder and the various features. Are there any exercises you can think of that will help me to learn the camera and its features? What should I try to learn to do first, second, third etc?

Or do you think I should just go to the park and start filming everything I see, messing around with settings and what not until I run out of tape?

Thanks for any tips and advice.

You are aware, of course, that tape is inexpensive and can
be used several times and that batteries can be recharged.
So you really cannot waste tape or battery time.

Or do you think I should just go to the park and start filming everything I see, messing around with settings and what not until I run out of tape?
I can't think of a better plan. I used to do that with film when
I was starting and film was not only very expensive but I couldn't
just film over it the next day.

Take a notebook with you and jot down what settings you used for
each shot. Then put all of it into you editing software and watch it
taking note of what you did with the camera.

Shoot a little chase scene - grab a scene from a play, a couple of
friends and shoot a dialogue scene from a bunch of different angels.

You won't be wasting tape or battery time. You will be learning.

Sweet, man. I got my start with a 3CCD miniDV cam; it lasted me years, and I got a lot of good use out of it. You do not need a fancy, expensive camera to learn this craft, and you can have success in local festivals with it. Congrats on the purchase, and enjoy it!