• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

advice on a key light

I am a complete beginner at filmmaking, and I'm currently piecing together a starter lighting kit. I jumped on a deal i found for two 105w fluorescent lamps with reflector umbrellas and stands. I was thinking i can use those as fill lights. I came across a great deal on a 150w tota and a 600w smith victor lamp. Just wondering if either of these two lamps would likely handle my need of a decent key light. I realize every situation is different, but I'm on a very low budget and i just want to piece together an affordable kit that will be decently versatile. any thoughts?

How much are you considering for the 600w Smith Victor? You can get an equivalent at Home Depot for not much at all... though if the SV has a stand already, that would make it a bit more desirable.

You really need to look up China Balls. One of the best (and cheapest) ways to light a good scene.

Forum member Scott Spears has an informational video about them, here:
http://www.scottspears.net/video-tech-tips.html

:cool:

I like a focused light of some kind for a key. Look for a used Mole Richardson mini mole or mifdet mole. Should run about $150 with barn doors. Not a ton of power, but if you're shooting DSLR they can work pretty well as a key.

The 600w incandescent is right around the right minimum illumination you're going to want for a typical 3 point lighting setup. I tend to like to sway toward 1000w for key so I can move the fixture farther from the subject and reduce the "hot spot" caused by the light being too close to the subject.

If you can get something with barndoors, you'll be really happy with yourself (although I have a full set of S&V 500w that I'm really happy with) as you'll have much more control over where the light doesn't go on set.