• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Advice needed: too many ideas

Alright, well I'm still pretty new to this forum but I have been writing and filming projects for at least a couple years now. I love writing and telling great stories whether it be through screenplays or whatever but the problem I have is that I have notebooks full of many feature length stories and many shorts that I just love and I even have full outlines for most of them, but I just don't have the time to work on them all. I know this is a ridiculous complaint but I was wondering, what do you guys do to help you focus on one story and stay focused. I have been trying so many things even trying to find others to write screenplays from my ideas but, so far, nothing really seems to work. I have heard a few things like keep an item around that conveys some idea of your story to inspire you or some other goofy ones but I still have a hard time staying with one idea when I have so many differant genres and ideas to pick from. Also, I am constantly adding to my notebooks which makes it even harder. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
There are many ways to remain focused. I personally like to keep a text file on my main machine (that is backed up every few days) that is a scratch pad. I type only the most brief explanations of my random ideas so it clears me to concentrate on what I am working on. Months later I return to the list and I delete anything that is stupid on second consideration, and I flesh out and organize ideas that seem good enough to keep.