About to buy a laptop + finalcut pro x

Hi
I'm midway shooting a feature film , all going great, tons of hard work but so satisfying. In the past I have relied on friends to edit my short films on their computers and have yet to edit anything myself.
Now this is where I'm getting out of my depth. I was thinking of buying an Apple macbook laptop and getting Final cut pro x. I'm completely not a techy person but have to learn as I was thinking of editing the film myself. Any suggestions on what I should look for in a laptop GB etc and how easy/hard is it to get to grips with editing..Budget is around £2,000 hopefully less for laptop/final cut.. Thanks in advance from this complete newbie. :)

Last edited:
get one with a GPU that can run Resolve.

It's the go-to program for color correction and color grading - the final step in an indie editors workflow.

unless portability is really important i would consider a desktop.
it's hard to upgrade a laptop in case you make a mistake with your order. you'll be stuck.

what's GPU?

Try THIS link.

FCPX has nice color grading/correction ability. Resolve is
better. But you can do fine color grading with FCPX

Hi
Any suggestions on what I should look for in a laptop GB etc and how easy/hard is it to get to grips with editing..
Get the most powerful laptop you can afford. Get a separate
hard drive to store all your media. RAM is more important them storage.

Hi
I'm midway shooting a feature film on a Canon 60d, all going great, tons of hard work but so satisfying. In the past I have relied on friends to edit my short films on their computers and have yet to edit anything myself.