• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Working with chroma key en virtual sets pro & cons please

Hello ,

I am a newbie in this so please correct me if I door say something wrong

I am starting with my first movie and one of the scenes in my movie is about a funeral (anno 1905)
Now I have asked permission in a lot of old graveyards for filming but until now they all denied , you know bla bla respeck for the dead ....

I was thinking maybe to do this with a green screen and just ad a virtual set of a graveyard or so

What are de pro and cons
What do I really need to watch out for when I start green screening ?

Thank you all very much for your help

tumblr_mnh3zjbvWZ1rjgcvdo1_500.gif

Hello new dude :cool:

It would be best to shoot in a real graveyard. I could make a long list of problems you will encounter shooting a graveyard scene, the first being camera movement. You're going to run into countless problems if you are going to have camera movement. You'll have to set tracking marks that can be tracked later in post so that gravestones move realistically. But there's going to be gravestones behind that, which will further complicate the process. You also will have to get royalty free photos/images of a graveyard, or shoot footage of a graveyard yourself, which is sounds like you cannot do. But if the background does not move with the actors, it will look wrong.

I'd highly recommend you shoot the scene inside of a building as if you are in a funeral home or small church. Or scrap some money together to shoot in a real graveyard.

Here's some green screen links that may help you:

http://www.youtube.com/user/filmriot/search?query=green+screen
https://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=green+screen&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8

Also, when you say "movie", are you talking about a feature or short? Because if this is your first more serious short film, I'd go against VFX and other things that will complicate the process.