• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

VoXDrop - how to turn Drama into Comedy?

I've pitched my script to some producers. It's about a guy with a childish voice, who uses a voice altering device to turn into a famous rapper, tuning his voice to be more brutal. It's a drama, but all the feedbacks I got, were saying that this concept is good for comedy, not drama. I think I knew it from the beginning. The reason I chose it to be drama is because I'm not good at making people laugh. I'm more into dramatic, serious stories. So, how can I make it comedy? What makes people laugh? Can anybody give me any tips?

Also, I've got an advise to "add more layers to the story". What does that mean?

You could perhaps make his physical appearance completely go against the voice he has. In this way you could create scenes where someone may feel intimidated by him until he actually starts to speak to them and then they cease to be intimidated - this could be done in a way so that the audience themselves think he's this intimidating character only by his physical appearance until he speaks.

So, how can I make it comedy?
What makes people laugh?
Can anybody give me any tips?

Comedy writing is tough. Usually it's either you can do it or you cannot. Teaching someone to be funny is harder than being funny yourself.

The only tip I can offer is to write what makes people laugh. Test it on people. If it doesn't make them laugh, go back and try again. Make it all happen within conflict, so if you fall flat, you still have the conflict to fall back on.

"add more layers to the story". What does that mean?

It means your story is likely to be flat and two dimensional. Adding layers to the story is something you should already know if you're trying to sell your work. Adding a subplot can add a layer. Adding a cookie early on in the story can add a layer. Adding a back story can add a layer and so on.