• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Shopping for my first DSLR Camera

Hi everyone. I've been thinking about getting my first DSLR camera. The only problem I'm having is choosing one. I would like to use this for filming purposes. I've never used one before but I can usually figure things out pretty quickly. My shopping budget is between $800-$1000. I just need a decent DSLR camera to get me started hence the rather small budget.

So if I could get a few suggestions on some models that would be greatly appreciated. I've so far only really looked into the Canon EOS Rebel T3i. There's a lot of knowledgeable people in this community and I appreciate any feedback or suggestions I get here.

I suggest doing this:

Google "GH2 Hacked"

and

"T3i Test Footage"

and then sit for the next week tearing your hair out which one you want to buy :)

Or - save yourself a lot of heartache and buy one and get filming. Who cares which one is better - make a film and make a film that communicates and no-one is going to tell you your camera disqualifies you from making a good film.

I personally suggest the Canon T3i. I own one (after doing the same research you're about to do) - it takes great video and even better still shots - I'm now the family photographer as well as friend's cheap wedding photographer.

I would suggest buying just the body and then buying a prime lens. You'll save a bit of money and probably get a better quality lens.

As a Nikon fan, I have the D5100, but the D7000 is the best Nikon ATM for video.

The t2i, 60D, and 7D are great. I've shot with all three, my favorite being the 60D.

I would suggest buying just the body and then buying a prime lens. You'll save a bit of money and probably get a better quality lens.

As a Nikon fan, I have the D5100, but the D7000 is the best Nikon ATM for video.

The t2i, 60D, and 7D are great. I've shot with all three, my favorite being the 60D.