• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Lightning kit for dark scenes? (Outside)

Hi there, I am planning to shoot outside in the dark. Planning to film near lampposts in the woods, but I need some extra light when I record a bit away from them.

So, what kind of lightning kit can I buy when I want to film moving actors (where the camera is also moving a little) a bit into to the woods? How can this be done to get a realistic lightning, that simulates moonshine or something like that.

I have looked on this: http://dx.com/p/9-6w-160-led-660lm-...ree-filters-for-panasonic-cgr-d16s-more-42304, will it work with one of these? I have heard that portable work lights used in garages and stuff can also be used, perhaps slap a CTB on it?

I have very little knowledge about lightning in dark scenes, so I need your expertise.

Thanks in advance.

Lighting night exteriors is probably one of the hardest things to do when it comes to lighting for film!

If you are filming in the woods for example, it will always look lit, however, it doesn't matter to the viewer as it will bring across the concept of night and moonshine. I remember a good friend of mine telling me when he shot his film "Homophobia" (Nino Leitner is that friend and you can find the film here: https://vimeo.com/41979122 ) that they blasted a few HMI's through the woods. Now, of course this will look slightly lit and not like night, but it conveys the concept of night and is visually interesting. Have a look at the forest night scenes and you will see what I mean. The best example is in the wide shots.

Now, if you film with one of those lights you linked above, it will look terrible. I don't know what your budget is, but those small LED lights aren't that great and don't put out toooo much power. Whatever you do, don't put them on the camera. keep em off the camera and light from there on.