• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Is this shot lit well?

It's definitely 10000% better than most indie films, shot with DSLR's. Kudos to you paying attention to lighting.

I think that his eyes are a bit to dark, and that the shadow on his neck and from his nose might be a bit to harsh! Try defusing that light! But that's just nitpicking :)

Last edited:
Shadow.png

Yes, that is nicely lit. :yes:

What sort of feeling are you going for?

If you asked me to guess what it's about, I'd say some 40 something year old discovering to relive his life again after being diagnosed with cancer and having to face his own mortality.

But then again I might just be reading into it too much :P

I'm with Phil. I noticed the shadow on the neck and the shadow of the nose. Unless you want me to notice that, you should diffuse the light.

But I'm no expert. I'm just giving you the viewer perspective.

Here's what you can do:

Diffuse your key light. I don't know what kind of light you are using, but it looks extremely hard. If i was using an Arri Fresnel, i would put some frost gel in the front to diffuse it. Then I would either put a reflector behind the subject, just out of frame to fill the rest of his face with light, to get rid of the shadows, or I would use a 150 Watt Fresnel and diffuse that as well to light up the rest. To give some separation from the backlight, i would maybe place a backlight behind the subject and give him a nice separation. I wouldn't want a rim of light around his head though!
Depending on how you light it, you might want to light up the background as well!

I am far from being a pro, but that's what i would do! Oh, and i would want to have a small light, even if it's just an iphone flashlight or small, defused LED behind the head of the person he is talking to, so he has a nice sparkle in his eye and doesn't look so dead!