vfx How to get some of these effects

Hi all - newbie video guy here. I'm a musician trying to make content and music vids for my band on the cheap. I'm proficient "enough" in fcpx, but I often struggle because I don't use it frequently enough to remember all the little tricks I learned the last time I used it. Have never used abobe or davinci.

I dig the look of this video:

I see that it's 24fps, but looks like the actual apparent frame rate is 12fps because every adjacent frame is identical.

That part is easy; I can shoot at double speed and slow the frame rate, or just do in FCPX. Or just shoot slower to begin with. Many ways to achieve that lower frame rate depending on what I'm going for.

The other thing I notice is that it seems like sometimes the light balance, or camera setting changes between frames. I can achieve something like this if I shoot a bunch of pictures in sports mode on my sony a6500. As opposed to "movie" mode where it shoots actual video files, but it seems like a laborious way to shoot a whole music video. I would have to string all the pictures together in an external program. Any idea if there's some kind of plugin that achieves this, or some other shortcut?

I also dig the drawn-in animation. Any idea what programs ppl use to do this? Is animation these days as laborious as I imagine; drawing things in frame by frame?

Thanks all, and apologies if I'm asking the equivalent of how to paint a masterpiece in a day with no practice. lol.
Geoff

Last edited:
I do have one note. Over the course of working on this, I ended up listening to your song on repeat for 12 hours, and I'm still not tired of it.

I'm also a music producer, and if those vocal harmonies had been a fraction of a semitone off in one place in the song, I would have noticed, and it would have driven me nuts. But there weren't any mistakes.