Paying actors for first time, need help

Hello,

I am planning on shooting a scene in July, and I've contacted an agent who is representing a 12 year old kid who I need to play the part. I offered him $500 and the parents accepted. I am completely new to all of this. The agent just sent me an email asking:
"Please send a contract or deal memo once it's drafted."

This is just a low budget scene filmed at a location that I found on craigslist. I was wondering if anyone could explain to me what steps I need to take. Also Do I need a business license or insurance, or can I do without those?

Is a filming permit needed to film on someones location that I'm paying them for? Is insurance a must if I'm going to be having small falling down stunts? anything else that I should look into now?

Worst case: imagine someone gets injured on set and sues you. Hence the need for insurance.

Do some risk it and not buy insurance? Sure they do? Do some regret it? I'm sure they do.

You don't need a permit to film in a privately owned location.

Last edited:
These are answers you should look into now:

Contact your local film commission and ask if a filming permit is
needed to film on someones location that you're paying them
for. HIFF is sure you don't need one; but unless he knows the
requirements where you are shooting I would suggest looking
into it. You may need insurance for a small falling down stunt.
If the performer is injured do you have the money to pay for all
medical bills? Check with your local insurer.

The steps you need to take with the actor is to draft a contract
or deal memo and send it to the agent.

These are answers you should look into now:

Contact your local film commission and ask if a filming permit is
needed to film on someones location that you're paying them
for. HIFF is sure you don't need one; but unless he knows the
requirements where you are shooting I would suggest looking
into it. You may need insurance for a small falling down stunt.