Wannabe needs a camera, where to start?

Hey guys, I am really new to film-making, I have done some small personal projects on a couple minidvs, a flip video, an sd hdd cam and a consumer hd panasonic cam. I looking to get into making commercials for small local businesses. I am having trouble finding info and comparisons of pro-sumer cameras. On top of that I'm not %100 sure of what I want. I want to to have a small focus depth (not sure of the correct term, aperture? not sure of the usage). I also do a lot of greenscreen work, I have been able to achieve pretty tight keys with the the digital cams and a ton of lights. I don't have a lot of money so I want value but I also want the most realistic, cheapest possible options. I prefer HD but I would like to know more about the general price difference between the 2.

I was also wondering about lenses, How do you know if cameras have interchangeable lenses, Are lenses proprietary and if so is it usually brand specific or model specific? How important is it that I have both a wide and small angle?

I think that is about it, thanks for taking the time.

You can start by going through the old threads here on Indietalk. You may be interested in the ones that mention DSLR's. Pretty much all the information you're looking for is in there.

If you still have questions or need clarification, feel free to ask here.

:)

Geez most of the threads are pretty specific, Too bad you couldn't pin some comprehensive gear lists. I'm getting lost looking for answers to any of my questions. I really just need someone to explain it to me so I can respond directly to really gain an understanding. I'm looking for something a little more personal.

Could you point me towards any specific threads you think may answer my questions? I looked through the first 3 pages of this forum and have done a lot of searching on google.

Thanks for the reply.