Philosophy books?

I'm beginning to get interested in subjects like philosophy. The concepts interest me' and broadening my mind could strengthen my art.
So the question is, where do I start? What philosophy is worth a read for someone just getting into the subject.

These are all public domain due to age right? So I'm guessing if they are public domain I can find them online for free?

Cheers

I studied a lot of philosophy.

I would recommend you start with Socrates' Meno and Crito first.

If it interests you, you yourself will go through all of his dialogues fairly quickly.

Once you're done, post here again and we can slowly move onto "more complex" materials.

nietzche is my favorite..... crackpot, is really the appropriate word.

Voltaires candide was good.

Bhagavad gita and the tibetan book of the dead are all amazing actually.

I would start with homers illiad and odyssey before moving up to socrates and plato, even though thats not technically philosophy.

I actually have Iliad and The Odyssey so I can start on them soon.

What philosophy books are there that are like Nietzsche's "Thus Spake Zarathustra", where the philosophy and ideas are expressed within a narrative?
That's a preference for philosophy if you know of any :)

Xairete! (Ancient Greek for "Greetings!)

If you're into Nietzsche, you'll probably like the existentialists/absurdists, who were heavily influenced by Nietzsche:

I'd recommend Dostoevsky (particularly Crime and Punishment, and The Brothers Karamazov), Albert Camus (especially The Plague). In a similar vein (the meaninglessness and absurdity of life, etc.), of course read Samuel Beckett's play, Waiting for Godot.