• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Lighting Comparison

I'm very new to lighting, and I just bought a few clamp lights after watching some 3 point lighting tutorials and started experimenting a bit. Below is 4 different setups I tried, I just wanted to know which one you think looked the best, or most cinematic. I know, none of them are very good, but this is my first attempt. Ever.

lightingcomparison1.jpg

Thanks!

Remember that you don't necessarily have to point your lights at your subject - you can bounce them off walls, ceilings etc. to get some interesting lighting setups. Reflectors come in handy for manipulating light too.

My fall back lighting is always set the backlight and key on opposite sides of the subject (left/right) with the back light in back and the key in front... I then fill the side opposite the key to flavor. For light levels, the key is set as the main exposure light, so it's as bright as it needs to be for me to achieve the f-stop I want, then I like the backlight to be 1 to 1.5 times as bright, then the fill on a dimmer to be able to dial in the contrast that "feels" right to me.

I then light the background at a really shallow angle to give it texture and walk away... this covers 70% of my lighting setups.

I either use motivated light for the backlight or the key... in your case, the motivation is that window in the background which can be the backlight in this case... you'll then key up to that (since you have no control over it at this point).

Nice attempts and it's always a good idea to play around with your lighting set-ups for your desired outcome. I like 1 most because it looks more natural and most importantly the lighting does not bring attention to itself which is key (no pun intended) to good lighting.