Is there a reason for this?

I don't get it. I have been checking out multiple boards and looking at a bunch of short films lately and I continuously run into the same thing over and over. Somebody post their video or a link to their work and have a saying similar to this "Hey, this isn't very good and I'm not a professional so certain aspects of it are really terrible. Also we shot it in like two hours and edited it in one. But check it out and leave comments." After reading that why would I want to check anything out and leave any kind of comment. What I just got done reading was "Hey I put no effort into this and it really really really sucks. But check it out any way and say exactly what I just did." What is the point of that? Are you trying to lower are expectations? If you are giving me a preconceived notion before I watch the video then you have already failed. Just tell us that you made this short film and would love for us to check it out and maybe offer some feedback on what you can work on for next time. I will come up with my own conclusions and thoughts about your work. Be proud of what you accomplished and put extra time into it. Anyone else feel this way or just me?

It's the YouTube Nation, man! It's never been easier to make movies and present them to an audience, so millions of people are. But of those millions, only a handful have true passion for the art and craft of filmmaking. The rest are screwing around with cameras. The reason these folks knock their material before you even get a chance to see it is precisely because they aren't that invested in it. They figure "I already know it sucks, so you can't hurt me. But its so easy to have an audience, why SHOULDN'T I have an audience?" They aren't looking for criticism; they are looking for praise. If you aren't interested in giving praise, don't bother. Save your critical eye for an artist who truly cares about what he or she has made.