i have a 1000-1200 budget for my first camera,,

I'm a film student looking to buy my first camera. Any suggestions?

I want something relatively mobile and easy to use.
Has a good lens and sharp picture.

I'm asking a similar question on another thread -- about HD versus mini-DV, at the low low budget end of the spectrum. You're probably researching cameras too, can I ask whether you've committed to one or the other yet? HD or min-DV? And what's deciding you, pro or con?

I'm a film student looking to buy my first camera. Any suggestions?

I want something relatively mobile and easy to use.
Has a good lens and sharp picture.
There are three things that are VERY important when getting a camera:

Three CCD’s or CMOS
Manual controls for the iris, shutter, focus and white balance.
A microphone input.

The JVC GZ-HD7, the first of the JVC HDD cameras is now a little over a year
old and discontinued, but I’ve seen these on line for as little as $800. A really
nice Fujinon lens makes a huge difference and full manual controls is important.
Three 1/5’ 16:9 progressive scan CCD’s are pretty impressive for a camera in
this price range. It has manual controls, a mic input and an excellent focus ring
which is surprisingly rare on small cameras. It records directly to a built in 60GB
hard drive. The issue here is the MPEG-2 compression (TOD). It’s not compatable
with many NLE’s so you’ll need to convert the TOD to QuickTime or AVI.

The GZ-HD6 can record 1080/60p through HDMI - pretty impressive.

The GZ-HD40 is a bit of a disapointment. I like that it records using AVCHD
compression which makes it compatable with most NLE’s but it loses the important
focus ring. And it’s so small.

The Panasonic HDC-SD100 uses a 3-CMOS array and records 1920 x 1080 video
in the AVCHD format to SD and SDHC memory cards. I like the ring on the lens
that controls zoom, focus, white balance, shutter speed, and iris and it actually has