Home Your Ad Here

Go Back   IndieTalk - Indie Film Forum > Tools of the Trade > Computers/Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2017, 01:24 PM   #1
Helmet
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Emirates
Posts: 1
Need advice on film editing workflow

Hi there

I've just joined indietalk from Emirates.

I was trained as a painter but fate got me in my father's photography studio (commercial studio & weddings). Since I was a struggling artist working in corporates day time and fighting to be an artist by night. I just decided to get into my father's business to at least have a creative job. I've been photographing since childhood. But for the past year, I've taken up the film and really enjoying it as a medium of expression. It's a broad freaking canvas!

Anyways, I'm really confused with the editing workflow. I have a Macbook pro retina 13". I've got Pr, Ae (CC 2017) & FCPX 10.3. My expertise level is pretty much the same on all three - which on a scale of 10 would be 3 IMO.

The confusion is that I love the clean and easy workflow of FCPX and it's efficiency on my system. But it lacks in colour grading flexibility as compared to PR and I've only got Neat Video in AE. Moreover, I'm unable to find free goodies for FCPX at the moment.

It just occurred to me that what if I edit my whole video in FCPX and export it in h.264 or ProRes 422 and then take that clip to Pr/Ae for grading and denoising? Is it alright to that? Are there any shortcomings or is it a good practice? I've researched extensively but couldn't find relative material.

Any advice would be more than appreciated.
Apologies for the noobness.
Helmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today   #1A
film guy
Basic Member
 
Posts: 17

 
Old 07-15-2017, 03:32 AM   #2
Sweetie
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 4,212
Quote:
It just occurred to me that what if I edit my whole video in FCPX and export it in h.264 or ProRes 422 and then take that clip to Pr/Ae for grading and denoising? Is it alright to that? Are there any shortcomings or is it a good practice? I've researched extensively but couldn't find relative material.
FCP still runs?

If the workflow works for you, run with it to your hearts content. It sounds like you'd run into quality issues but your post lacks the details to have an option either way.
Sweetie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 01:12 PM   #3
buscando
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: L.A.
Posts: 330
Quote:
FCP still runs?
Hi Sweetie, if you're saying FCP is obsolete, what do you use?

Last edited by buscando; 07-15-2017 at 01:21 PM.
buscando is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 02:39 PM   #4
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC
Premiere Member
 
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rego Park, NY
Posts: 4,234
This review on Final Cut Pro X may shed light on why more people use Premiere Pro than Final Cut Pro.

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2387491,00.asp
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 03:51 PM   #5
buscando
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: L.A.
Posts: 330
Quote:
This review on Final Cut Pro X may shed light on why more people use Premiere Pro than Final Cut Pro.
http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2387491,00.asp
So it's Cons outweigh the Editor's rating of Excellent?
Are you using Premiere, MDMP?
buscando is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 05:39 PM   #6
Lucky Hardwood
Basic - Premiere Expired
 
Lucky Hardwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,664
For color grading, you can download the free lite version of Davinci Resolve.
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/pro...vinciresolve/#

ETA: The new beta of version 14 studio includes a NLE.

Last edited by Lucky Hardwood; 07-15-2017 at 05:59 PM.
Lucky Hardwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 10:43 PM   #7
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC
Premiere Member
 
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rego Park, NY
Posts: 4,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by buscando View Post
So it's Cons outweigh the Editor's rating of Excellent?
Are you using Premiere, MDMP?
I have Premiere Elements on my iMac and PCs as well as Hitfilm Professional 2017. My PCs are also equipped with Vegas Movie Studio Platinum Suite that include DVD Architect and Sound Forge. Check out the reviews on HitFilm. It's getting great reviews. HitFilm is easy to learn, if you spend some time with it and watch the on line tutorials on YouTube. I was thinking about getting Final Cut Pro for my iMac, but this review is giving me second thoughts. I will spend some time with iMovie, since it is similar to Final Cut in the new features.

I don't like subscription software, that's why I am staying away from Premiere Pro CC.

Last edited by Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC; 07-15-2017 at 10:46 PM.
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 12:56 PM   #8
zenamerican
Basic Member
 
zenamerican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 7
I think exporting a clean master of your video in something hearty like 422 then doing work on it in AE is fine. I work in CC and even though I can work within PR on AE I still do any AE work separately then export back in. I find to many linking issues when sharing projects or hen coming back to a project after a few months. Long story short. Yes that is a fine workflow.
zenamerican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 04:03 AM   #9
Cracker Funk
Basic Member
 
Cracker Funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 9,570
I'm a big fan of Premiere CC, but if FCP works for you, do your thang!

Yes, I think your workflow is just fine. But, do you have to export it to h.264? Is there no capability to import the project from FCP into AE? If not, that might be a reason to consider switching to Premiere. It works seamlessly with AE, and any other software you might need.
Cracker Funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 02:37 PM   #10
shortboy
Basic Member
 
shortboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 238
Are FCP projects still importable to Premiere? You can probably do the chunk in FCP and then import the project into PR and go from there.
shortboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 06:56 PM   #11
Sweetie
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 4,212
Quote:
if you're saying FCP is obsolete
Not saying that. Was an attempt at humor. It's a dying program.

Quote:
what do you use?
Avid, PP mostly. Can use others. Personally I prefer PP as I mostly do single editor projects these days.

Used other programs like Hitfilm/Resolve as a requirement for particular workplaces and found them to be fine for beginner editors. Once you hit intermediate usage and beyond, they either don't keep up or hold you back.

Use whatever software works best for you. Everyone has different usage requirements. Not everyone is editing at a pro level or requires top end software.

Last edited by Sweetie; 07-18-2017 at 07:06 PM.
Sweetie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 08:10 PM   #12
buscando
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: L.A.
Posts: 330
Interesting, Sweetie. Thanks!
buscando is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
aftereffects, editing, fcpx, premiere, workflow


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


©IndieTalk