Home

Go Back   IndieTalk - Indie Film Forum > Tools of the Trade > Equipment

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2018, 01:37 AM   #1
Damienc
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 3
Problem With Arri Lights

I recently bought an Arri Fresnel lighting kit.

The two 650 lights came without globes so I ordered them from B & H in New York.

The light globes were from Arri in Germany and when I tried to fit them to both lights after delivery the globes blew straight away as soon as they were switched on.

Can anyone suggest what the problem might be ? and where I could go to get it fixed? Do I need to go to an Arri expert ? or would a qualified electrician be able to handle the job?

I live in Sydney Australia.

Thanks in anticipation.
Damienc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today   #1A
film guy
Basic Member
 
Posts: 17

 
Old 07-21-2018, 06:32 AM   #2
jax_rox
IndieTalk Moderator
 
jax_rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,868
Where did you buy the lights from?
Arri should be able to help you out - they have an office and service department in Lane Cove
jax_rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 10:36 AM   #3
directorik
IndieTalk's Resident Guru
 
directorik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: hollywood
Posts: 9,483
Welcome to indietalk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damienc View Post
Can anyone suggest what the problem might be ? and where I could go to get it fixed? Do I need to go to an Arri expert ? or would a qualified electrician be able to handle the job?
Any electric should be able to tell you what happened. If
the lamps are still under warranty you should take them
to Arri in Sydney for a look. Even if they aren't it seems
like a wise move to let Arri take a look.
directorik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 05:39 PM   #4
AcousticAl
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: South of the Mason-Dixon
Posts: 614
Any chance you set the globes into the fixtures with bare hands?
AcousticAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 05:42 PM   #5
indietalk
IndieTalk Founder
 
indietalk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,036
120 light on 240 power?
indietalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 11:03 PM   #6
Damienc
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by AcousticAl View Post
Any chance you set the globes into the fixtures with bare hands?

No chance. I bought gloves for the sole purpose.
Damienc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 11:06 PM   #7
Damienc
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by indietalk View Post
120 light on 240 power?

The lights have a three point plug which is the setup in Australia. I would have thought I could simply plug in the power point and away we go. I have contacted ARRI in Australia to try to get to the bottom of this. I thought there might be someone who had a similar experience with these lights. I hope I can solve the problem. They are great lights to have for what I do.
Damienc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2018, 08:50 AM   #8
directorik
IndieTalk's Resident Guru
 
directorik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: hollywood
Posts: 9,483
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damienc View Post
I thought there might be someone who had a similar experience with these lights.
Not me, unfortunately. I've used my Arri kit all over the world. Purchased
globes in different countries and never had that issue.

Sorry.
directorik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


©IndieTalk