Home

Go Back   IndieTalk - Indie Film Forum > Tools of the Trade > Computers/Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2018, 09:30 AM   #1
shootman
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 62
GPU

Im somewhat new to the field. I just purchased a pc with an integrated graphic card. Im looking to buy a gpu(Nvidia GrForce 6 series), but Im seeing really cheap cards around 500 mb. Is 500mb too low? And where does this come in to play?
shootman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today   #1A
film guy
Basic Member
 
Posts: 17

 
Old 08-11-2018, 11:52 AM   #2
Quality
Basic Member
 
Quality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Boston, Ma
Posts: 1,055
Of course 500mb it's low. You need at least 4gbs.
Quality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 12:26 PM   #3
shootman
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quality View Post
Of course 500mb it's low. You need at least 4gbs.
Okay,... What would more power on the graphic card do for my editing? Please explain, if you know.
shootman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 12:27 PM   #4
shootman
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quality View Post
Of course 500mb it's low. You need at least 4gbs.
And "need" is a very strong word. I can decide what I "need" once I know what it will give me.
shootman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 12:34 PM   #5
Quality
Basic Member
 
Quality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Boston, Ma
Posts: 1,055
Which output do you want to render? Full HD or 4k?
Quality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 12:37 PM   #6
shootman
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quality View Post
Which output do you want to render? Full HD or 4k?
My video format will be 1080p
shootman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 12:38 PM   #7
shootman
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quality View Post
Which output do you want to render? Full HD or 4k?
Yes, full
shootman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 12:40 PM   #8
Quality
Basic Member
 
Quality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Boston, Ma
Posts: 1,055
The graphics card powers your monitor and the quality of the video in an editing software. If you have a 500mb card it wouldn't render Full HD properly. It might even crash the software.
Quality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 01:25 PM   #9
sfoster
IndieTalk Moderator
 
sfoster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 5,556
You only need a GPU if you want to do color grading with pro software - but color grading is important.
It's one of those elements that transforms footage from home video into cinema.

You need a minimum of 2GB for Hd and 4GB for UHD.
But for UHD the official rec for resolve is 8GB+

They talk about GPUs on page 42 but it is focused on UHD editing not HD
http://documents.blackmagicdesign.co...tion_Guide.pdf

Last edited by sfoster; 08-11-2018 at 01:27 PM.
sfoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 01:27 PM   #10
shootman
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfoster View Post
You only need a GPU if you want to do color grading - but color grading is important.
It's one of those elements that transforms footage from home video into cinema.

You need a minimum of 2GB for Hd and 4GB for UHD.
But for UHD the official rec for resolve is 8GB+

They talk about GPUs on page 42 but it is focused on UHD editing not HD
http://documents.blackmagicdesign.co...tion_Guide.pdf
Yeah I will be doing color correction and grading. So Ill need at least 2GB on the gpu? What is UHD?
shootman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 01:28 PM   #11
sfoster
IndieTalk Moderator
 
sfoster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 5,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by shootman View Post
Yeah I will be doing color correction and grading. So Ill need at least 2GB on the gpu? What is UHD?
uhd is ultra hd. nearly 4k
sfoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 01:29 PM   #12
shootman
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quality View Post
The graphics card powers your monitor and the quality of the video in an editing software. If you have a 500mb card it wouldn't render Full HD properly. It might even crash the software.
I do want the cheapest. What would be the least of everything as far as the Nvidia gpu?
shootman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 04:56 PM   #13
Sweetie
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 4,336
Quote:
If you have a 500mb card it wouldn't render Full HD properly.
FULL OF ****.

While I don't like it, I've edited HD with crappy computers using only the integrated graphics card. So you probably need less than you've already have.

Does the software not work with what you already have?

What performance do you require? Is it a problem if you drop frames or your computer is a little less responsive?

The higher performance you desire and the larger bitrates of your media, the more you need.
Sweetie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
card, gpu, nvidia, video


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


©IndieTalk