Home Your Ad Here

Go Back   IndieTalk - Indie Film Forum > Tools of the Trade > Cameras

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2017, 05:19 PM   #1
mussonman
Basic Member
 
mussonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: www.youtube.com/mussonman
Posts: 3,235
T2i HDMI Question

Does anyone use the T2i (or a DSLR of similar make) and ever used the HDMI output?

If so, do you know if leaving it plugged in will prevent it from dying, even when the battery runs out?
mussonman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today   #1A
film guy
Basic Member
 
Posts: 17

 
Old 05-11-2017, 06:38 PM   #2
AcousticAl
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: South of the Mason-Dixon
Posts: 488
I had a T2i a long time ago and did use the HDMI out to a monitor. Not sure I get the question, though.
AcousticAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 10:41 PM   #3
mussonman
Basic Member
 
mussonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: www.youtube.com/mussonman
Posts: 3,235
basically, i'd like to use the camera for an extended period of time (way longer than the battery life) without stopping. I can't find info on whether or not HDMI can essentially work as a charger. I know other cameras can be charged via USB and HDMI, but idk if this one can.
mussonman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 10:44 PM   #4
sfoster
IndieTalk Moderator
 
sfoster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,975
I did a quick google search

http://cheesycam.com/canon-t2i-ac-wall-adapter/
sfoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017, 05:42 AM   #5
AcousticAl
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: South of the Mason-Dixon
Posts: 488
Ah, so the question really is, "Can the T2i be externally powered through the HDMI port?"

No, it cannot.

But the AC adapter sfoster linked is a good solution, if you're close enough to shore power.
AcousticAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017, 05:36 PM   #6
WalterB
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rotterdam Area, The Netherlands
Posts: 3,318
AC adapter or use a large V-lock brick or make a converter for a car battery.

However: if you want to shot video there is also the recording limit.
WalterB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017, 08:12 PM   #7
mussonman
Basic Member
 
mussonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: www.youtube.com/mussonman
Posts: 3,235
Thanks guys. I actually found out about the AC adapter almost immediately after posting this question

I'm actually intending to use it for livestreaming
mussonman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017, 10:13 PM   #8
sfoster
IndieTalk Moderator
 
sfoster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by mussonman View Post
Thanks guys. I actually found out about the AC adapter almost immediately after posting this question

I'm actually intending to use it for livestreaming
Yesss!! do it!

even if you're only live streaming one episode a week i bet you'll get a lot more views for that live episode than the rest of your days
sfoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2017, 08:10 AM   #9
WalterB
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rotterdam Area, The Netherlands
Posts: 3,318
The mirror will not stay open unless you can force it with Magic Lantern.
WalterB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2017, 12:28 PM   #10
mussonman
Basic Member
 
mussonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: www.youtube.com/mussonman
Posts: 3,235
I'm not entirely sure what that means
mussonman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2017, 04:58 AM   #11
WalterB
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rotterdam Area, The Netherlands
Posts: 3,318
You are using a DSLR.
There is a mirror between the lens and the sensor that allows you to look through the lens, when you take a picture the mirror moves up and the sensor get exposed at the correct time (thanks to 2 curtains).
When you go the video mode you hear this click: the mirror moves up and light hits the sensor continuously. But after a while, while you are in stand-by mode (not recording), you hear this click again: the mirror moves down and your screen turns black, right?

To save power, the video mode stops after a few minutes unless there is a way to tell the camera to not let the mirror down.
WalterB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2017, 09:35 AM   #12
mussonman
Basic Member
 
mussonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: www.youtube.com/mussonman
Posts: 3,235
I'll have to test it. I'm pretty sure that can be customized though. Is that what 'mirror locking' does?
mussonman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2017, 12:27 PM   #13
AcousticAl
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: South of the Mason-Dixon
Posts: 488
Quote:
Originally Posted by mussonman View Post
I'll have to test it. I'm pretty sure that can be customized though. Is that what 'mirror locking' does?
Go to your settings menu and set "Auto Power Off" to "OFF". That'll keep the camera from powering down after any idle time.

The only hink is that the LCD will go to sleep after 30 minutes of the camera not being used, even with Auto Power Off disabled. It's been a minute since I've had a T2i, and I can't remember if that drops the mirror or not. There's no way to disable the LCD sleep feature, that I can remember.
AcousticAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2017, 07:02 PM   #14
mussonman
Basic Member
 
mussonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: www.youtube.com/mussonman
Posts: 3,235
Thanks I'll figure it out as I test everything
mussonman is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
yep


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


©IndieTalk